About Us

Image of Articles of Incorporation

Who We Are

The Washington Township United Fund provides supplementary financial support for organizations and programs that serve the people of Washington Township.  We are a registered 501(c)3 community organization. Because we operate independently of any regional or national fundraising organizations, we can exclusively support youth, families, and adults right here in our own community. We are a 100% volunteer-run organization with no paid administrative staff. 

Washington Township United Fund Informational Brochure


The Washington Township United Fund was founded on September 14, 1959. The original articles of incorporation state the organization’s purpose as follows: “To solicit, receive and collect gifts and to administer and disburse the same for charitable, educational, recreational, civic and philanthropic uses and do anything necessary or proper for the accomplishment of these purposes.” Two years later, the mission was amended to focus exclusively on the people of Washington Township.  

Charter board members of the Washington Township United Fund were Dorothy Guedet, Esther Planck, Ronald J. Dingledine, Victor Schwarzentraub, George Funk, H. W. Engel, Edward Habecker, Jr., Carl Maxwell, and William Ebert. All board members lived in Washington, except for Victor Schwarzentraub, who had a rural Eureka address.

The first meeting of the Washington Township United Fund was held on November 30, 1959 at the Danforth Bank Building at “128 Commercial Square” in Washington, Illinois. All charter board members were present. At the first meeting, two officers were elected. The meeting minutes state, “Upon motion duly made, seconded and unanimously carried, Mrs. D. C. Guedet, was chosen chairman of the meeting. Mrs. R. M. Planck, was chosen secretary of the meeting.”

Board of Directors, Past and Present

 Existing records document that the following individuals have served on the Washington Township United Fund Board of Directors since its inception in 1959: 

  • Jeffrey Alexander
  • Richard Benson
  • Carolyn Blumenshine
  • Alice Bremner
  • Cindy Brownfield
  • Don Dempsey
  • Ronald Dingledine
  • William Ebert
  • H. W. Engel
  • C. Y. Fahnestock
  • George Funk
  • Elizabeth Garrison
  • John Gorman
  • Dorothy Guedet
  • Edward Habecker, Jr.
  • Don Hodel
  • Dennis Hermann
  • Michael Hillary
  • Roger Holzhauer
  • Ben Hughes
  • A. Hunt
  • Jana Hunzicker
  • Karen Kremer
  • Jamie Mammen
  • R. Mason
  • Carl Maxwell
  • Donna Meldahl
  • Ira Miller
  • Jim McDaniel
  • Gary Moehle
  • Jonathan Moehle
  • Eric Obalil
  • Esther Planck
  • Roger Stevens
  • Jeanne Sunderlin
  • Megan Swearingen
  • Brad Swearingen

The current Board of Directors is interested in building a complete and accurate list. If you know of past Washington Township United Fund board members not included on this list, or have additional information that you believe should be included on this list, please contact us at info@washingtonfund.org.

Board Of Directors

The Washington Township United Fund is governed by a Board of Directors that consists of nine individuals who reside within Washington Township. Individuals currently serving on the board are named below: 


  • Jeffrey Alexander, President
  • Jana Hunzicker, Secretary
  • Michael Hillary, Treasurer


  • Lauren Joop
  • Karen Kremer
  • Jamie Mammen
  • Jonathan Moehle
  • Eric Obalil
  • Megan Swearingen

2023 Board Meetings

All Washington Township United Fund Board of Directors meetings begin at 7:00 p.m.  Board meetings are typically held at 117 Peoria St. The meeting dates for the 2023 calendar year are as follows:

  • March 7, 2023
  • June 6, 2023
  • September 5, 2023
  • December 5, 2023


Click here to access the Washington Township United Fund By-Laws.